Ask the Missionaries – Welcome Elder Butler

We have a new  Elder join us here in Irvine. His name is Elder Butler and he has kindly shared his testimony with us.

Hi, My name is Elder Butler. I come from California.

I was raised in the church but I really came to know that this church is true when I was about 18. That’s when I began to read the Book of Mormon and began to really see for myself if it was true.

I can’t pinpoint when I realised there was a God and that Joseph Smith was a prophet to a singular experience but over time through a process I have been able to have good experiences with the Book of Mormon, with the church and with following the commandments and I’ve been able to see the happiness and blessings that come as we act on what the Lord asks us to do.

I do know that God appeared to the prophet Joseph Smith when he was fourteen and that through Joseph Smith, God restored his church on the earth. I know that Thomas S Monson is the modern day prophet, leading God’s church here today. As we follow his counsel we can come closer to God. We can feel happy and be closer to the spirit.

I know that families are forever and that the Gospel of Jesus Christ will bring a happiness and love in our families and into our lives that no other source can offer. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ.  Amen.

2014-04-20 14.03.51

Elder Butler serves with his companion Elder Fippin

Both the Elders and the Sisters really appreciate your love and support while they are serving especially when we feed them. If you are able, please sign up on Sunday to have the missionaries for a dinner appointment. The list circulates in Sunday School and also in Relief Society however if you are busy in your callings at these times please feel free to approach or
e-mail brother Brother Bill Corbett, who has an up to date list.

Matthew 25:40. And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the lest of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

SAVE THE DATE

We have planned a series of Missionary Firesides for 2014; the first of these will be Friday 25th April starting at 7:00pm (Refreshments from 8:00pm – 8:30pm).

The theme of all these Firesides will be ‘Joseph Smith and the Restoration’.

There are four Firesides scheduled this year:

·       Friday April 25th – (1805 – 1823) 

o   The Ancestry of Joseph Smith

o   The First Vision

o   The Angel Moroni

 

·       Friday June 20th – (1823 – 1830) 

o   The Tuition of Joseph Smith

o   Translation of The Gold Plates

o   Restoration of Priesthood and the Church

 

·       Friday August 29th – (1830 – 1844)

o   Continuous Revelation

o   Missionary Work

o   Persecution

 

·       Friday October 24th – (1844 – 1845)

o   Martyrdom of Joseph and Hyrum Smith

o   Brigham Young

o   The Leaving of Nauvoo.

 

 Please come along and support your missionaries and leaders by inviting friends and family to this wonderful event.

 

We'd love you to leave a reply!

