Horatian Odes

Horatian Odes are poems that tell a story.

They are relatively short and are to someone or about someone. Usually they have 2 or 4 line verses but can be more. The rhyming and metrical pattern are the same throughout.

My favourite method is a four line stanza with lines 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 rhyming. The following are two poems I wrote some time ago.

Mother

Your much loved face so worn with care
I visit in my mind today.
I miss so much your fun and flair,
Your energy and kindly way.

Your hair now shot with silver thread,
The grey eyes tired in their stare,
A blessing on your ancient head,
A victor in the world’s last race.

Your cheeks now pale and heavy lined,
The strength of character always there,
Stares out at me and fills my mind
And gives me refuge from all care.

When I in turn do this road take
My mother’s steps I wish to tread.
Then in my turn an example make
Now I am mother in her stead.

I almost didn’t present the next one as it is so personal but then I thought of others I’ve known who have lost a loved partner to an illness and decided to go ahead.

On His Death

Tall and straight with eyes so blue,
A handsome man in every way,
His heart and soul and love so true,
I miss your presence here today.

As time passed on disease took hold
I watched you fade from day to day.
A tragedy to soon unfold
I saw you change and waste away.

Battered shadow with quiet despair
A broken man no battle to win.
Yet spirit and soul tho’ full of care
Still shone and glowed with fire within.

I took your hand and held you close.
I whispered of my love for you.
The man I knew and loved the most
Drift softly away like morning dew.

I knew not fully what was lost,
Nor yet the loneliness to come.
I cannot measure what it cost
Am left bereft and sorrow numb.

A hope I have in time to come,
The man I once did hold so dear,
Will once again, new time begun,
Rejoin with me and end all tears.

Sorry my last one was a bit sad, still I think there is no point in doing poetry unless you FEEL. Have a go yourself and let us know how you do.

One thought on “Horatian Odes”

We'd love you to leave a reply!

